Throughout this month we are going to be exploring Aromatherapy & the Chakras. We start by understanding the fundamentals of energy the seven Chakras, what they are, their origins, meanings as well as exploring us, as human beings.

When we begin to talk about Chakras it’s hard to even know where to start before diving into the principles and meanings behind the seven Chakras and there are so many other practices that are all different in their own way, but, they all revolve around the same main principle – energy or life force.

What do you mean by energy?

In traditional Chinese culture, energy is called “Qi” or more commonly known to us as “Chi.” It is to be believed that it is a vital force forming part of any living entity. “Qi” translates as “air” and figuratively as “material energy”, “life force” or “energy flow”. “Qi” is the central underlying principle in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Chinese Martial Arts and the practice of cultivating and balancing “Qi” is called “Qi-gong.”

In Japanese culture, it is called “Ki”, though this character originates from the Chinese “Qi” they are still used differently. The Japanese still use the character for “chi” This is the character. It combines the symbols for rice and steam, combining the simple inanimate thing with an animation brings it alive as some sort of energy released. Ki can be used ambiguously such as in the description given. Ki can mean many different things from the release of energy, emotions or energy within a person or an object but ultimately it means life force or life energy.

In Indian culture, it is called Prana. Prana is Sanskrit word for breath, “life force” and this permeates reality on all levels including inanimate objects. In Hindu literature, Prana is sometimes described as originating from the Sun and connecting the elements. There are five types of Prana, collectively known as the five vāyus.

Prāṇa – The exhaled breath, pra – “outward”, “forth”, which lives in the lungs.
Apāna – Down and outward energy, most notably the eliminatory systems. It resides in the hips and gut
Udāna – Rising energy, resident in the throat, but also responsible for lifting kuṇḍalinī. Sound production through the vocal apparatus.
Samāna – The heat of digestion, which resides in the belly between prāṇa above and uḍāna below
Vyāna – The energy of circulation that resides throughout the body.

Our bodies are alive with universal energy. This energy flows in, out and all around us, this is the underlying principle of many systems and practices such as Reiki, Qi-gong, Tai Chi, Shiatsu, yoga and many more. It is known by many different names and can be interpreted in many different ways but ultimately meaning life force or energy.

What do energy and Chakras have to do with each other?

First of all, let’s look at where the word Chakra originates. Chakra itself means ‘wheel of light’ in Sanskrit, an ancient language of India and a Chakra is a centre of power and energy in the human body. It can be described as a vortex or valve that helps keep us healthy, balanced and protected. Sometimes Chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. If the body’s ‘energy system’ can not flow freely.

Chakra Flower Chakra Flower Chakra Flower Chakra Flower







Each Chakra resembles a flower having petals and stems. The stems normally stay closed but the petals are flexible, opening, closing, vibrating and turning according to different life situations. Our physical body is surrounded by an energy field often called the Aura, which is divided into seven layers. The petals open into the auric field at the front and the stems open into the auric field at the back. The crown and root Chakras are contained within the central column.

You have seven of these major energy centres or Chakras that basically run lengthwise along the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head. We can use Chakras or energy centres to cultivate greater harmony, happiness, and well-being in our lives and around us.

For those who can see or sense Chakras, they are seen as wheels of light or colour. Each Chakra has its own specific colour but also includes all of the other colours. The colour that is seen is that colour that is not absorbed. So a yellow Chakra absorbs all of the colours of the rainbow – red, orange, green, blue, indigo and violet but not yellow. Each Chakra is associated with a colour, shape, star sign, planet, smell, sound, emotion, negative and positive personality and much more.


Chakra Colours

The Root Chakra

Location: The root chakra is located at the base of the spine
Colour: Red
Essential purpose: Grounding, security, physical needs
Associated parts of the body: Adrenals, kidneys, blood and circulation, the base of spine, bones, colon, immune system.

The Sacral Chakra

Location: The sacral chakra is located midway between the pubic bone and the navel.
Colour: Orange
Essential purpose: Relationships
Associated parts of the body: Reproductive system, ovaries and testis, large intestine, pelvis

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: The Solar Plexus Chakra is located underneath the diaphragm
Colour: Yellow
Essential purpose: To be oneself
Associated parts of the body: Pancreas, stomach, liver, gall bladder, nervous system

The Heart Chakra

Location: The heart chakra is located on the right side of the chest
Colour: Green
Essential purpose: Love, self-love and love of humanity (not ego love)
Associated parts of the body: Thymus gland, heart, blood, circulatory system, arm and hands

The Throat Chakra

Location: The throat chakra is located in the middle of the throat
Colour: Light blue/turquoise
Essential purpose: Communication
Associated parts of the body: Thyroid, bronchial apparatus, lungs, throat, mouth, tongue, vocal cords

The Third Eye Chakra

Location: The brow chakra is located in the centre of the forehead
Colour: Deep blue
Essential purpose: Inner vision
Associated parts of the body: Pituitary gland, lower brain, nervous system, ears, left eye, nose

The Crown Chakra

Location: The crown chakra is located at the top of the head
Colour: Violet
Essential purpose: Connect to and being at one with the universe
Associated parts of the body: Pineal gland, upper brain, right eye.

Next week we will take a deeper look into the seven Chakras and Auric fields and how they work with us as human beings.